top of page
Search
  • Daughter of the most high

The Opportunity of a Skirt

Updated: Mar 7, 2022

If you've been around or involved in Apostolic ministry for any amount of time, you may have noticed that Apostolic women dress differently than most women. Apostolic women typically wear dresses or skirts most, if not all, of the time. As a result of this, you can typically find an Apostolic woman in a crowd quite easily. Why do apostolic women wear mostly skirts and dresses? There are few scriptures in the Bible that nod to this type of attire for women. First, Deut. 22:5 states that "the woman shall not weareth that which pertaineth unto a man...". And secondly, 1st Timothy 2:9 states that, "...wom(en) (should) adore themselves in modest apparel...". Based primarily on these two scriptures, most Apostolic women will wear longer skirts and dresses. The idea is that these articles of clothing are specifically feminine in nature and are modest. In addition to those two scriptures, there are also many scriptures that speak about holiness. In following with the idea of being Holy, women also dress this way to set themselves apart.


But what about Apostolic men? Most of the time, you may not be able to tell the difference between an Apostolic man and any other man from outward appearance alone. Interestingly, the Bible doesn't set many dress guidelines for Men. The primary verse that pertains to men is Deut. 22:5 which states they should not dress like women. Because of this lack of Scripture and the general nature of the men's clothes, you will find most Apostolic men wear the same types of clothing as any other man.


I don't know about you, but when I realized this, my immediate thought was "how unfair" or "unjust" for women to have to follow such rules when men do not. I felt that this was just another example of inequality and it made me not want to follow this biblical requirement. And I didn't follow it for many years. I wore what I wanted, when I wanted and even upon returning to church. I continued to wear what I wanted outside of Church and church functions. A couple of months into attending an Apostolic church however, I started to notice something about myself. I began to automatically lean towards more conservative clothing. I started to wear skirts and dresses more often and even when I didn't, I wore tunic shirts and looser clothes. I realized I felt more comfortable in those items. A couple more months passed and I had a conversation with my mother about a dream of hers. She said in her dream, the Lord told her there would be a time when you had to portray your beliefs without speaking and the only way it would be possible to do this was through outward appearance. My immediate thought was, "when would this ever be the case?". My mother then went on to tell me about a story from her church. A few women were out at a local mall shopping when an individual came up and said something to the effect of "I can tell you are different. Would you please pray for me". That hit me square in my soul and over the following few days, I couldn't seem to shake that story and dream. I started to realize, you can say a lot by what you wear and I had to think, what do I want to say?

About a week later, I was attending a service at my local church, when the Lord gave me the realization that wearing a skirt or dress and dressing differently is not a burden or injustice against women but an incredible opportunity. We have the ability to speak to the people around us without ever saying a word. We have the opportunity to minister by just being present in a place. We have the unique, incredible opportunity to show our love, loyalty, holiness, without ever speaking. This means that every, single time we leave our house or step foot into a public place (even just outside of our home for a moment), you have the chance to minister to someone. You have the opportunity to show you are different, you are holy, you are dedicated, just by being. That is an amazing opportunity and one that most people will never have. It is saved for brave women, women who choose to be modest, to look different and therefore be different. It an outward showing of love and dedication. Why wouldn't you want to take this opportunity?


At the end of the day, you will turn heads regardless of what you wear and for either all of the wrong reasons or the right reasons. I want to go out and mend hearts while turning heads.




125 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page